Palawan Province is situated in the southwest part of the Philippine Islands chain. It is bounded on the north and west by the South China Sea and on the east by the Sulu Sea. Its southernmost tip faces the island of Borneo. Palawan is the largest province in the Philippines. Its three major island groups are: Calamain in the north, Dumaran-Cuyo in the northeast and Balabac-Bugsok in the south.

The province is a melting pot of 87 different cultural groups and races who live together in peace and harmony. The native-born Palaweños still predominate the populace. Eighteen percent is composed of cultural minority groups such as the Tagbanwa, Palawano, Batak, and Molbog. There are 52 languages and dialects in the province, with Tagalog being spoken by more than 50 percent of the people.

Coron is a municipality in the province of Palawan, Philippines. According to the 2010 census, it had a population of 42,941 people. The municipality covers the eastern part of Busuanga Island and all of the nearby Coron Island, as well as another 50 minor islets, stretching as far as Tara Island in the northeast and Canipo Island in the south. All these islands are part of the Calamian Archipelago in northern Palawan that separate the South China Sea from the Sulu Sea. The main industries of Coron are fishing and tourism, being a popular diving location.













































One Response to “Philippines, Palawan Province” Subscribe

  1. Susan Woog Wagner January 26, 2015 at 2:44 pm #

    This is an amazing group of photographs! Your love for the Phillipines and people is evident in this group of photos! LOVE them!

Leave a Reply